The János Lotz Medallion



János Lotz (1913–1973), an internationally outstanding figure of the Hungarian philology, did not live long enough to see how the International Association of Hungarian Studies come into being. His significant scholarly activities at Swedish and American universities, his results in the fields of research and teaching of the Hungarian language and literature are so distinctive that he is to be seen as an intellectual forerunner of the International Association of Hungarian Studies. This is why the Association’s medallion, awarded for outstanding work in the field of Hungarian Studies, was named after him. The medallion can be awarded to a scholar engaged in Hungarian Studies and living outside Hungary, for marked contribution to research, teaching and organizing in the fields of Hungarian Studies, and for the improvement and the spread of the results reached in these disciplines. The János Lotz Medallion – an artwork of the sculptor, Erika Ligeti – is awarded every five years at the International Congress of Hungarian Studies.

The Lotz Medallion Winners

2001: International Congress of Hungarian Studies V

  • Árpád Antal literary historian, Babes-Bolyai University, Kolozsvár 
  • Imre Bori Imre literary historian, University of Novi Sad
  • Tuomo Lahdelma University Professor, University of Jyvaskyla
  • János Péntek  linguist, Babes-Bolyai University, Kolozsvár
  • László Vajda ethnologist, Institut der Völkerkunde, Munich

1996: International Congress of Hungarian Studies IV

  • János S Petőfi linguist, University of Macerata, Italy
  • Richard Pražák historian, literary historian, Masaryk University, Brno 
  • Andrzej Sieroszewski literary historian, University of Warsaw 
  • Zoltán  Szabó linguist, Babes-Bolyai University, Kolozsvár
  • Lajos Turczel literary historian (Slovakian literature after 1945), Comenius University in Bratislava
  • Wolfgang Veenker linguist, Hamburg
  • Waseda Mika University Teacher, Osaka University

1991: International Congress of Hungarian Studies III

  • István Futaky education historian, The University of Göttingen
  • Zsigmond Jakó historian, professor, Kolozsvár
  • Hannu  Launonen literary historian, Finland
  • Péter Rákos literary historian, Charles University in Prague
  • Kálmán Sass literary historian, Cathlic University in Leuven
  • Antal Sivirsky literary historian, The Hague, Holland
  • Truong Dang Dung, Hanoi
  • János Váradi-Sternberg historian, University of Uzhgorod